Creating and managing a shared drive

Need Additional Help? If you need further assistance after reading this article, please contact the IT helpdesk via email at techsupport@baypath.edu or by phone at (413)565-1487.

Create a shared drive

Shared Drive creation is managed by IT. If you need a shared drive created, please reach out to the IT helpdesk for assistance.

What members can do at different access levels


Access Level

Permission

Manager

Content manager

Contributor

Commenter

Viewer

Can view files and folders

check mark

check mark

check mark

check mark

check mark

Can comment on files

check mark

check mark

check mark

check mark


Can edit files

check mark

check mark

check mark



Can create and add files, can create folders

check mark

check mark

check mark



Can add and remove people and groups on specific files

check mark

check mark

check mark



Can restore files from the Trash (up to 30 days)

check mark

check mark

check mark



Can move files from My Drive to a shared drive

check mark

check mark

check mark



Can move files and folders to the Trash

check mark

check mark




Can move files and folders within a shared drive

check mark

check mark




Can add or remove people and groups on specific folders in a shared drive

check mark

check mark




Can move folders from My Drive to a shared drive

check mark





Can move files from one shared drive to another shared drive

check mark





Can add or remove members of a shared drive

check mark





Can change member access levels

check mark





Can permanently delete files in the Trash

check mark





Can rename or change theme

check mark





Can delete the shared drive

check mark





Add members to a shared drive

Requires manager access

image-20240725-005233.png
  1. In the left column, click Shared drives and double-click one of your shared drives.

  2. At the top, click Manage members.

  3. Add names, email addresses, or a Google Group.

    1. By default, new members will be Content managers. They can upload, edit, move, or delete all files.

  4. To change the role for a new member, select a role from the dropdown.

  5. To choose to notify new members of their access, click Notify people.

  6. Click Send.

Change a member’s access to a shared drive

Requires manager access

image-20240725-005408.png
  1. On the left, click a shared drive.

  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow → Manage members.

  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select a new access level.

  4. Click Done.