Update contacts

Need Additional Help? If you need further assistance after reading this article, please contact the IT helpdesk via email at techsupport@baypath.edu or by phone at (413)565-1487.


Update contacts

  1. Go to Google Contacts.

  2. Point to a contact's name.

  3. On the right, click Edit image-20241031-205755.png .

  4. Edit the information.

  5. Click Save.

Tip: You can't change details that automatically come from:

  • Your contact's Google profile

  • Your contact’s work, school, or organization

  • Google Maps, if your contact is a business

https://storage.googleapis.com/support-kms-prod/egtxflMNE9gAu4r8Td3rsTABp6i5LWJLq4hP

Merge duplicate contacts

  1. Go to Google Contacts.

  2. At the top left, click Menu   0e33a00e-aa1d-4ded-af39-c68596704922.png 421fdcc0-8c3f-4670-8622-8b320d2cb007.png  Merge & fix.

  3. If you don’t find a "Merge duplicates" option, you don’t have any contacts that you can merge. If you find contacts that you can merge:

    • To accept one or more duplicate contact suggestions, click Merge.

    • To accept all duplicate contact suggestions, click Merge all.

  4. Optional: If you want to choose which contacts to merge:

    • Go to Google Contacts.

    • To select the contacts you want to merge, hover over each profile picture or monogram. Then, check the box.

    • At the top right, click image-20241031-205735.png .

https://storage.googleapis.com/support-kms-prod/TZhMcEeONmzBiMj4WCc4ulNts3O6ehCH7pkl

Delete a contact

  1. Go to Google Contacts.

  2. Select one of the following: 

    • A single contact: Check the box next to the contact name.

    • Multiple contacts: Check the boxes next to all the contacts you want to delete.

    • All contacts: Check the box next to any contact. At the top left, click the Down arrow 751262b6-9ddd-49a5-9062-91c87983f98e.png All.

  3. At the top right, click More  8f46cef7-8735-4fb8-819a-9715885a7202.png 421fdcc0-8c3f-4670-8622-8b320d2cb007.png   Delete 421fdcc0-8c3f-4670-8622-8b320d2cb007.png  Move to trash.

    1. Your contacts are moved to Trash, where they'll stay for 30 days before they’re deleted permanently

Tip: To delete a contact permanently, go to "Trash," select the contact, then click Delete forever.

https://storage.googleapis.com/support-kms-prod/7nO6Dr85DM1fPQeNHEju52eJnNdOBC4yWLoY

Learn more at the Contacts Help Center